Chrissy’s Dutch Baby Pancakes

So, before I get into this amazingness of a breakfast food, let me explain something.

I have an semi-normal obsession with Chrissy Teigen.

Semi-normal as in I really appreciate her values, humor and what she has to say. Semi-abnormal because she is probably the one celebrity I could never meet. I would instantly turn into a sobbing puddle of a woman (while probably wearing her face on a T-shirt). It would be similar to a 14-year-old who gets to be in the TRL audience on N*Sync day. And not Backstreet Boys. N*Sync 4eaeaeae, but we’ll leave that justification for another day.

So, when Chrissy’s (we’re on a first name basis) cookbook came in the mail I actually read it cover to cover. And this little ditty stood out to me because 1. It looks amazing and 2. I already owned all of the ingredients.

 

Chrissy’s Dutch Baby Pancakes

Makes: Chrissy says 4 servings, but I easily ate half
Prep: Less than 10 min
Total: 25-30 min, give or take

You’ll Need:

  • 4 tablespoons of butter (divided)
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 cup milk (her recipe calls for whole, but I used almond)
  • 4 eggs
  • ½ tsp salt
  • Powdered sugar
  • Toppings optional – I added blueberries to fool my mind that this was 2017 Resolution Friendly (it’s not.)

Here’s what you do:

  1. Heat oven to 475. *Make sure to do this right away so you’re not waiting later, trust me.
  2. According to Chrissy, you start with melting 2 tbsp of the butter and adding it to a blender with the flour, milk, eggs and salt. In the process of this, my blender died. So, I put it in my food processor. And it leaked. Everywhere. So I threw this all away.
  3. Then, I took new versions of those same ingredients and put them in my Kitchen Aid mixer with the whisk attachment. This seemed to work just fine, but took about 10 min to fully get rid of the lumps whereas Chrissy says 20-30 seconds in the blender is the way to go. Either way, the batter should be lump-free.
  4. Melt the remaining 2 tbsp of butter in a 10” cast iron skillet on high heat until melted and foamy. Failing again, I only have a 12” cast iron skillet… if you’re in this predicament I would either increase the recipe or buy a new skillet. (Correct Answer: You can never have too many CISs.)
  5. When butter is melted, pour batter into the skillet and immediately place in heated oven.
  6. Bake until the pancake has puffed and is a deep golden color. Don’t worry, it tends to look like it will explode. That’s normal. Mine cooked for 18 minutes.
  7. Remove from the oven and dust with powdered sugar. Slather in softened butter and syrup.dutchbaby_1
  8. Slip into food coma – pray there’s a SVU marathon on.


My dad was super excited (from 400 miles away) that I was actually cooking “real” food. Whatever, Dad.

In short, this ended up tasting like a crispy, pan fried pancake. There is no bad here. Just don’t tell your personal trainer. #2017Resolutions

One thought on “Chrissy’s Dutch Baby Pancakes

Leave a Reply

