Provel Cauliflower Sticks

The most commonly known thing about me – like with friends, family, co-workers, you name it – is that I looooove me a good hunk of summer sausage and block of cheese.

Yep, that’s my identifier and I’m proud of it.

I once told Connor (my husband) that I wanted to be a vegetarian. He laughed and kindly reminded me that summer sausage comes from meat. We’re not sure which kind, but meat nonetheless. Today, I told him I might give both up for Lent this year. This time around he was more supportive.

But then I remembered a block of cheese usually has a lifespan of 4-5 days at our house and we buy them at least 4 at a time. Mainly because I trim off slices THE ENTIRE TIME I’m cooking. Every night. I think about a week into Lent, you might find Connor running around the neighborhood frantically, while I’ve got the crazy eyes yelling, “Hereeee’s Johnny” and painting REDRUM on our condo walls.

Anyway, it’s about time I found a better alternative to the cheese obsession that is at least semi-nutritious. Enter cauliflower.

Cheesy Cauliflower Breadsticks

(Basically the pseudo-adult version of cheesy cauliflower florets)cheesysticks_1

You’ll Need:

  • 4 cups of cauliflower rice (or, throw a bag of cropped florets in a food processor)
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 cups of cheese, probably mozzarella but I prefer provel
  • 3 tsp oregano
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Additional cheese for topping
  • Marinara for dipping

Here’s How:

  • Preheat the oven to 425 and line a baking sheet and spray with cooking spray. I used
    tin foil and experienced some minor sticking. Parchment might be better. If you try it, let me know how it goes.
  • Once your cauliflower is riced, microwave for 10 minutes.
  • Then mix with eggs, cheese and spices.
  • Form into a rectangle on the lined baking sheet and bake for 25 min.
  • Top with remaining cheese and broil for another 5 or so minutes, keeping an eye on the level of browning. 
  • Let cool, slice and serve.

text
Okay, this was so much easier than I imagined and actually looks, tastes and smells pretty fantastic. I told my veggie-loving father about it (sarcasm) and this was his response. They’re very supportive.

The only fumble here was running out of mozzarella, because that’s my life. But I have to shamelessly plug my LOVE of Provel. If you don’t know what that is, you’ve never been to St. Louis. From what I’ve seen, you either love this delectable cheese or think it’s the white version of Velveeta. I love it, obviously. Provel is a mix of cheddar, Swiss, provolone and magic. If you’re able to try it, please do. Then we can chat about how life-changing it is.

Basically, if we ever leave St. Louis, you can bet I’ll be lugging a cooler of this with me wherever we go.

Leave a Reply

