Bachelor Night Chicken Tortilla Soup

I don’t know about you, but Monday nights are superrrrr busy.

Busy as in, the Bachelor is on and not only am I required to stay up past 9 (stop judging me), but I’m occupied for a full TWO HOURS. And when you get home past 6, it can be really difficult to decompress and make a healthy-ish meal before 7pm when all of the drama starts.

Therefore, I think Monday is going to become my new crock-pot night. Breaking out the crock-pot even left me with time for Jillian Michaels 6 Week Six Pack. Which, after owning this torture device on my Amazon Prime for well over six months, I completed for the very first time (now making me realize why I’ll never have a six-pack). She actually gets motivational at the end, reminding you to do things for yourself because that’s what is really important. I almost felt bad for cursing her (not figuratively) for the entire 28 minutes prior. Long story short: I like this one. Well worth the $7.

Okay – back to the crock-pot.

Bachelor Night Chicken Tortilla Soup

(And don’t skimp on the tortilla strips)

Makes: A lot. But 6ish good sized bowls.
Prep: 10-15 minutes
Total: 4+ Hours Cock-pot Time

You’ll Need:

  • 1 TBSP coconut oil
  • 1 lb chicken breast, chopped
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • Seasonings of your choice – I used cumin, chili pepper, paprika, red pepper flakes and garlic salt
  • 3 cups chicken broth
  • 8 oz can tomato sauce
  • 14.5 oz can of Rotel – I prefer Hot, but it’s your world
  • 4.5 oz can green chilies
  • 1/4 cup chopped cilantro
  • 1 package of taco seasoning
  • 1 can corn, drained
  • 1 can black beans, drained
  • Toppings –  I chose the tortilla strips below, cheese, plain Greek yogurt and Sriracha

For the Tortilla Strips – Seriously. Make these.

  • 1 cup canola or vegetable oil
  • 1-2 large whole wheat tortillas
  • Seasoning of your choice – I used another package of taco seasoning
  • Cooking Spray

Here’s what you do:

  1. Prep the chicken the night before: melt the coconut oil over medium high heat. Once melted, add garlic and cook until fragrant. Add the chicken and season generously. When the chicken is almost cooked through, toss in chopped onions and continue cooking until translucent. Store in fridge overnight. Note: You can do this at the same time you’re making the rest of the soup, but I like to pretend I have a life and am sOoOo busy.
  2. The next day, prep your crock-pot either by using a liner or with cooking spray. This will help make clean-up easier, ensuring you never miss a minute of Corrine’s craziness (disregard if you don’t watch The Bachelor).
  3. Toss the rest of the ingredients in. Stir and set heat level. I did mine on low for 8 hours, but you can adjust as needed. It’s soup, not rocket science.
  4. Once you set it, forget it. And go do something wonderful with your cooking-free 8 hours. I’ve got FOMO just thinking about it.
  5. NOW THE BEST PART. *Do this a few minutes before serving.
    Heat the oil over medium high heat in a small sauce pan. Spray both sides of your tortillas with cooking spray and season generously. Cut the tortilla into strips using a pizza cutter. Cook in oil for 2-4 min. Remove using a slotted spoon and degrease on a paper towel.
  6. Finally, enjoy this healthy soup with your deep fried tortillas and whatever toppings your little heart desires. Because, #balance.

This soup was relatively cheap, easy AND tasty. While still being pretty dang healthy. Which I was grateful for once I poured a glass (or three) of wine and broke out the Halo Top to compensate for Corrine’s awfulness. Especially when she didn’t want to dance with with everyone’s (not mine) favorite *vocal ensemble (not boy band).

**Also, I’d like to reiterate my feelings on N*Sync versus BSB. Because you will never, I repeat NEVER, see Justin Timberlake on the Bachelor. He has better things to do (trust me, I stalk his Insta). However, I will say, BSB was the absolute best serenade in Bachelor history.

Anyway.

In all realness, if you’re trying to be extra healthy you don’t need the tortilla strips, but they’re seriously fantastic. Plus, you could have gone with Doritos, or Fritos, or some other heavenly processed food, but at least you know what’s in these. And that’s a win in my book.

Leave a Reply

