Sous Vide Egg White Bites (without the sous vide)

Okay, I swore up and down that I would never be one of those girls that spends a million dollars every month at Starbucks. But by golly, I’m pretty much there.

I blame the obsession on several factors that are totally out of my control.

  1. It’s literally walking distance from my work cube. So it’s even more tempting on nice days when you just want to see some sunshine. Or long days when your brain just needs a break. Or days you’re particularly tired/happy/sad/any emotion because, it’s Starbucks.
  2. It’s like a less alcoholic form of Cheers. My coworkers (myself included) go there often enough that everybody knows your name. And dammit, sometimes you just need that pick-me-up.
  3. I try with all of my will power to not store food in my work area – I usually fail, but whatever. If I do, it’s usually Boom Chicka Pop (yaaas Mankato) or something that cannot be considered a full meal.

Enter the Starbucks breakfast menu into my life.

BUT, I truly think that was a message from above because Starbucks just started serving these little egg-bite-thingys and I immediately thought – Hey, I can make that… and I can make that healthier and cheaper! So I did, and I solemnly swear to retry this whole life sans Starbucks thing again tomorrow.

Sous Vide Egg White Bites

(but without the sous vide because that’s hard and would cost me $150 at least for the equipment)

You’ll Need:

  • Egg Whites – I just used the carton version, but by all means get to crackin’
  • Toppings of your choice (see mine below)
  • Cooking spray
  • Muffin pan

Here’s How:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Spray muffin tin with cooking spray.
  3. Add toppings to muffin tin filling each cup about 1/2-3/4 of the way full.
  4. Fill to the top with egg whites and give it a quick swirl using a toothpick/fork.
  5. Cook for 15-20 minute or until eggs are firm.
  6. When you’re ready to eat, pop in the microwave for 20-30 seconds.

So, I decided to go with three different kinds of egg bites (purely based on what was already in our refrigerator).

Caprese: Chopped Roma tomatoes, diced fresh basil and Provel or Mozzarella cheese. I topped this with a sliced cherry tomato to signify which cup was what.

Veggie: Literally all of the veggies we had just hanging around, with some sliced breakfast sausage and Gouda. Topped with red onion.

Southwest: Red onion, tomato, fresh cilantro, chicken breast, Mexican cheese blend and red pepper flakes. Topped with a jalapeno.

These were so easy and delicious. And for that, I’d like to dedicate this post to Starbucks – but I’ll probably tell you (as in Starbucks) that in person on Monday morning (because Starbucks is a person). Judge me.

Leave a Reply

