Instapot Pork Carnitas & Pineapple Pico

carnitasTRUE LIFE: I own just about every kitchen appliance known to mankind. So when my friends started raving about the Instapot, a surge of emotions raged through me.

It started with curiosity and intrigue. What was this thing and why is it so great? Then, confusion with a tinge of irrational jealousy. WHY AM I THE LAST PERSON ON THE PLANET TO KNOW ABOUT THIS THING. And finally, a weird anxiousness that I needed this thing in my life.

So, I bought it (God bless Amazon one-click shopping). And I love it.

The Instapot is basically a lazy girl’s slow cooker – and yes, I know that a slow cooker is already at the epitome of lazy cooking.

But really, you can’t tell me that I’m the ONLY person terrified that leaving a crock pot on for 9 hours while I’m at work will only end in my house being burned to the ground. So, this is the best solution to keep my anxiety in check. And I got some really great pork carnitas out of the deal.

Note: If you’re one of those brave souls that embraces the slow cooker all day, ‘err day then by all means go for it. This is actually a slow cooker recipe that I converted.

Pork Carnitas with Pineapple Pico

(served preferably with a jug of margaritas)

Makes: More than enough for 2
Prep: 10 min
Total: 45ish? But it’s basically all Instapot

You’ll need:

  • 1lb boneless pork loin
  • 1 cup canned crushed tomatoes
  • ¼ cup sherry vinegar or red wine vinegar
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1 TBSP garlic, minced
  • 1 TBSP paprika
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • Corn tortillas
  • Greek yogurt

For the Pineapple Pico

  • 2 cups fresh, frozen or canned pineapple, diced
  • 1 roma tomato, diced
  • 1-2 limes, juiced
  • ⅛ cup olive oil
  • 1 fresh serrano or jalapeno pepper
  • ½ tsp sea salt

Here’s what you do:

  1. Toss the tomatoes, vinegar, onion, garlic, paprika and cumin into the Instapot and stir until mixed well.
  2. Add the pork, secure lid and press the “Meat” button or whatever is the equivalent on your pressure cooker. Note: If you’re making this in a crock pot, add all ingredients and cook on low for 8 hours.
  3. That’s it. Go about your day. Live your life, girrrrl. (I hope you read that in your sassy voice. I sure did.)
  4. To make the pico, mix all of the ingredients together and let sit for about 20 min while the pork cooks.
  5. Shred the pork using a fork. Make sure to drain the liquid.
  6. Assemble your carnitas – I like adding some Greek yogurt because I’m from the Midwest and we loveeeee slathering spicy foods in sour cream. This is at least better for you. Top the shredded pork with pico.

The Instapot is my new favorite thing (don’t tell my spiralizer). It’s seriously so great and well worth the $99 price tag on Amazon. I love this recipe because there was enough leftover to re-purpose into new meals. We turned the pork into a Pulled Piggy Pizza and I used the pico the next several days and made tuna salad wraps.

Definitely check back for the Pulled Piggy recipe. It’s fantastic, but the Bachelor starts in three minutes so, byeeeee. 

 

4 thoughts on “Instapot Pork Carnitas & Pineapple Pico

Leave a comment