Harvest Salad with Honey Mustard Vinaigarette

It’s the day after the Superbowl and if your Sunday night was anything like mine, I’d say it’s time for a nutrition cleanse.

Let’s face it – the only thing I really care about when it comes to the Superbowl is the food… okay, sometimes the halftime show (slay, Gaga). And if you managed to make it through Sunday eve without consuming at least half of your body weight in Doritos and cocktail weenies, then you’re just not human.

I, on the other hand, am very human. Meaning I used every crock pot I own for our wild party of *FOUR people. I was the Oprah of crock pots. Everyone got their own crock pot filled to the brim with (cheesy, fatty and just plain bad for you) food.

So today, we’re eating lots of salad. And before you get all judgey on me and say that’s not really cooking, you’re just throwing stuff into a bowl – stop. I made the dressing so settle down.

Harvest Salad with Honey Mustard Vinaigrette

Makes: 1 serving
Prep: 10 min
Total: 30 min

You’ll Need:

For the Salad:

  • Protein of your choice – I used baked chicken breast with poultry seasoning.
  • ½ Apple, chopped
  • Dried cranberries or cherries
  • Pecans
  • Shredded white cheddar cheese
  • Spinach

For the Dressing

  • ½ TBSP garlic, minced
  • 1 TBSP white wine vinegar
  • 1.5 TBSP Dijon mustard
  • ½ tsp honey
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • Ground pepper to taste
  • ⅓ cup olive oil

Here’s what you do:jar

  1. Combine all of the ingredients for the salad.
  2. Combine all of the ingredients for the dressing except the olive oil. Wisk.
  3. Slowly add the olive oil while whisking. Store in a mason jar.
  4. That’s seriously it. Enjoy!

I did this as part of my Sunday meal prep. And when I say meal prep, I mean getting my life together long enough to make lunches for the work week because I don’t want to run out to Qdoba or Panera every day.

This is a good salad to store in a mason jar. I tripled both recipes to last a few days. The mason jar keeps your salad weirdly fresh – just layer the ingredients as they’re listed in the recipe. The dressing will stay good for a 2-3 weeks, so really you have zero excuses to run out for a burrito bowl.

Leave a Reply

