Chrissy’s Crab Cake Benedict

True confession: I don’t like breakfast.

Unless you count coffee, because then I loOoOoveee breakfast. No? Okay.

But really, when it comes to breakfast I have three rules that must be followed:

  1. I don’t like breakfast foods for breakfast. I would honestly rather have a big burger  at 8 a.m. rather than a more conventional food option.
  2. I do like breakfast foods, but not for breakfast. Waffles for dinner? Now you’ve got my attention.
  3. If I do eat breakfast foods for breakfast, we’re going all out. Imagine a massive brunch buffet with a Bloody Mary bar or endless Mimosas. Now that’s my kind of breakfast.

You know who understands my breakfast rules? Chrissy Teigen. Because we’re soul sisters.

If you haven’t purchased Cravings yet, do it now. Even the breakfast section is to die for (hence this pancake miracle baby). So when I saw that I had basically all of the ingredients for her Crab Cake Benedict, I immediately wanted to try it. And I don’t even like normal Eggs Benedict. Look at me trying new things!

Chrissy Teigen’s Crab Cake Benedict

Makes: Chrissy says 4 servings, but Connor and I went halfsies on this one
Prep: 10 min
Total: 1.5 hours (but that includes an hour of chill time)

You’ll Need:

Faux Hollandaise:

  • ½ cup mayonnaise
  • ¼ Sriracha – or more. You knew I was going to say that, didn’t you?
  • 1 tsp minced garlic

Crab Cakes:

  • 1 large egg
  • 2 TBSP mayonnaise
  • 1 ½ tsp dijon mustard
  • 1 tsp Sriracha
  • 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • ½ tsp ground black pepper
  • 2 TBSP chives, minced
  • ¾ lb lump crab meat – I used two cans of canned crab from Trader Joe’s (GahBlessYa) because we’re poor.
  • ⅓ cup fine bread crumbs
  • ½ cup canola oil

Eggs:

  • Greens of your choosing – Chrissy used Arugula, but I only had spinach so #YOLO
  • 1 avocado, sliced
  • ½ tsp distilled white vinegar or lemon juice
  • 4 eggs
  • Freshly ground pepper to taste

Here’s How:

  1. Mix together all of the ingredients for the (faux) Hollandaise sauce in a small bowl. Cover and store in the refrigerator until ready to use.
  2. In a medium bowl, combine the egg, mayonnaise, mustard, Sriracha, Worcestershire, pepper and chives. I found using a rubber spatula the easiest and most functional way to do this.
  3. Add in the crab and bread crumbs. Fold in gently. You should just need enough of the bread crumbs to hold the cakes together, so don’t add any extra.
  4. Form into 4 crab cakes, cover and store in the refrigerator for one hour.
    Note: I didn’t see this going into the recipe. Overall, this recipe is pretty quick and painless, just make sure you can wait that long to eat it! But hey, that’s what mimosas are for. Or in our case, catching us on SNL (because we go to bed at 9) and Melissa McCarthy as Sean “Spicy” Spicer. DEAD.
  5. Once the crab cakes are done chilling, heat the oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. When the oil is shimmering, gently place the crab cakes in the oil and cook for 3-4 minutes on each side. Place the cooked crab cakes on a paper towel lined plate to drain the excess oil.
  6. While the cakes are cooking, heat another large skillet of water until simmering. Prepare your plates with a layer of greens and avocado slices, topped with a warm crab cake. Cover with foil to keep warm.
  7. Add the vinegar or lemon juice to the simmering water. Crack the eggs one by one into a small bowl, ensuring that the yolks do not break. Slip into the water before cracking the next egg.crab-cakes
  8. Remove egg from water using a slotted spoon. Place on top of crab cake and top with Hollandaise sauce.


Like I said, this was delicious so we both ate double servings. Considering how pretty this dish looks once it’s served and how easy it is, it’s a really great option for the next time you have house guests to impress. Or if you just want to distract your husband from the 8 new Amazon Prime orders that just were sent to his inbox. (Don’t share a Prime with your spouse if you don’t need to.)

Either way, my breakfast rules are all still intact. So, #winning.

Leave a Reply

