Collard-Wrapped Turkey Burgers & Parsnip Herb Fries

Fun fact: Saint Louis is home to one of the largest Mardi Gras celebrations outside of NOLA. I can’t tell you that first-hand because I’ve only been to the New Orleans airport (it was September and we never left the tarmac), but it was on the internet so it must be true.

alliConnor and I are fortunate enough to have pretty fantastic friends (this girl included) that are willing to travel *TO MISSOURI* to hoop and holler with us all weekend. That means we will be so ready to cleanse our minds, bodies and souls come the beginning of Lent on Wednesday next week.

I always fail at Lent (I’m also not Catholic) so I thought we’d try a different approach this year: Whole30. If you haven’t heard of this thing, you’ve probably been living under a rock the past year. Welcome back! So what is Whole30 you ask?

This is definitely not a diet. I feel like I’m a pretty healthy person and this is not meant to lose weight. Instead, this is definitely a reset. I want to understand what’s causing certain aches and pains, see if this could help my breathing issues, or even allow me to sleep through the night. At the very least, maybe I can cut back on some of the processed crap in my diet.

A friend recommended trying a few Whole30 meals before diving in head first. So knowing that my meals this weekend will consist of mainly Doritos and parade fare, I thought why not get some essential nutrients in.

I must admit, so far I’m a big fan.

Collard-Wrapped Turkey Burgers with Parsnip Herb Friesturkey-burger

Makes: Mine made 5 burgers and 2 servings of fries
Prep: 10 minutes
Total Time: 30-40 minutes

You’ll Need:
For the Burger:

  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 3 green onions, minced
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • 1 beefsteak tomato
  • Collard greens – I used two leaves per burger

For the Fries:

  • 1 lb parsnips, peeled
  • 2 tsp + 1 tsp extra virgin olive oil
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ¼ tsp ground black pepper
  • 2 TBSP minced fresh chives
  • 2 TBSP minced fresh parsley

Here’s how:

  1. Preheat the oven to 425F. Peel the parsnips, trimming off the ends and cut into fries.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, toss the parsnips with 2 tsp olive oil, salt and pepper. Spread onto a foil lined, rimmed baking sheet and roast for 20 minutes.
  3. While the parsnips are cooking, mix together the ground turkey, green onions, paprika, salt and pepper. Form into turkey burger patties.
  4. Heat remaining 1 tsp in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Once the oil heats, add in the turkey burgers, cover and cook for about 5 minutes until browned. Flip and cook another few minutes until turkey burgers are cooked through and no longer pink in the middle.
  5. Back to the fries. When the fries have cooked for 20 minutes, flip and cook an additional 5-10 minutes. Make sure to keep an eye on these! I like mine extra crispy. Like basically burnt… but my husband’s crispy preferences vary. Pizza night can be a struggle for that very reason.
  6. Once cooked to your crispy-preferences, place parsnip fries back into the mixing bowl. Toss with remaining olive oil, chives and parsley.
  7. Top the turkey burgers with tomato slices and wrap in the collard greens and serve with the parsnip fries. Note: Feel free to top your turkey burger with additional Whole30 approved toppings: red onion slices, mustard, etc.

I repackaged this meal for lunch the next day at work and I must say, it was fabulous. And I felt fabulous after eating it. Much better than I felt after eating a cream-filled, chocolate frosted doughnut an hour later.

Like I said, we’re diving in *NEXT week.

 

Leave a Reply

