Chicken Stew with Sweet Potatoes and Kale

True confession: I hate kale (barf).

But honestly, who here actually loves the stuff? No one. That’s right, no one.

Even when Beyonce made the leafy cabbage soar with popularity, I still couldn’t get on board. Needless to say, I was a little skeptical when a friend passed me this stew recipe, but of course I made it anyway. Here’s why:

  1. Kale was the only ingredient I had to buy and we’re poor.
  2. I figured at the very least, it would save me a few head-scratching days of wondering what in the heck to bring to work for lunch (soup is always the answer).
  3. It’s a slow-cooker recipe meaning it’s also an InstaPot recipe. #winning
  4. Desperate Whole30 times call for desperate measures.

I’m sure none of this is making you excited to make this soup, but let me tell you, it was so stinking good. Even Connor loved it, had seconds and slurped up the broth. My 5-year-old father (in spirit, not in actual age) said it looked “good, like something a rabbit would eat,” and coming from him that’s basically a compliment.

Chicken Stew with Sweet Potatoes and KaleStew2

Makes: 4+ Servings
Prep: 15 minutes
Total: 1 hour in the InstaPot/8ish hours in the slow-cooker

You’ll Need:

  • 2-3 large sweet potatoes, peeled and chopped
  • About 10oz kale, shredded with the stems removed
  • 1lb chicken breasts
  • 2 32-oz boxes sodium-free chicken broth
  • 2-3 teaspoons kosher salt
  • 2 teaspoons Italian seasoning

Here’s How:

    1. Place all of the ingredients into a slow-cooker or InstaPot.
    2. For Slow-cookers: Stir ingredients together and cook on high for 4 hours, or low for 8 hours.
    3. For InstaPots: Stir ingredients together, seal and press the Meat/Stew button.
    4. Go about your business because THAT’S. IT. Maybe throw on a Jillian Michael’s DVD while you’re at it, because who doesn’t like crying before dinner?
    5. Before serving, remove chicken and shred. Note: I could not believe how juicy and easy to shred the chicken was after being cooked in the InstaPot. Like, amazed.
    6. Add the chicken back in, stir and salt and pepper to taste.

Really the only thing missing from this stew was a loaf of crusty, soft bread. But Whole30 says that’s bad for you so we just imagined the bread with this delicious soup.

I’ll end this one with another confession: despite what I say, Whole30 has actually been pretty easy.

For the most part, I’ve enjoyed it. This soup (like other Whole30 approved recipes) leaves you full, satisfied, but still feeling good. When Connor doesn’t have to roll me back to the couch afterwards, (which is usually what happens after our Friday pizza nights) that’s a win in our book.

Just saying-it’s not all that bad.

 

Leave a Reply

