Avocado Jalapeno Chicken Burgers with Potato Wedges and Chipotle Mayo

I’m a planner. Always have been, always will be. Ask my husband and he will tell you about my lists and how much he loves it when I ramble them off, pretending like he gives a sh!t in the process. He’s good at humoring me, one of the million reasons why I love him.

I learned how to plan from my mom. If you haven’t met her, let me summarize: she’s absolutely never late, organization gives her life, she hates a messy house (don’t you dare walk past the mudroom in your shoes or leave that jacket on the back of your chair) and she always has a plan A, B, C, and so forth.

She even had a meal plan scheduled every week-something this former picky-eater grew to love. Every Monday, the menu for the upcoming week would be posted on the refrigerator, ultimately letting me know whether or not I would “have to stay late at practice” and sub in cereal for dinner. Don’t get me wrong, my mother is a fantastic cook. It just took me until my adult-life to develop her taste buds for literally all of the foods.

As you’ve probably guessed, I definitely carried her ways into my new married-life (well before that, actually), using Google Docs to meal plan, store recipes and even plan for my weekly trip to Trader Joe’s (stop your judging). But, a true planner always has a backup plan in the rare chance Plan A fails. My backups include several mix-and-match recipes that I typically have all of the ingredients for. This is one of them-or is now that we’re pros at this Whole30 thang.

Even if you have not one of these ingredients, I promise you it’s still worth a shot.

Avocado Jalapeno Chicken Burgers with Potato Wedges and Chipotle Mayo

Makes: 4-5 Burgers
Prep: 15 minutes
Total: 45 minutes

You’ll Need:

  • 2-3 baking potatoes-sweet potatoes will also work
  • Olive oil
  • Salt to taste

For the Avocado Burgers

  • 1 lb ground chicken
  • 1 large avocado
  • 1 TBSP chopped garlic
  • 1/4 cup almond meal– you can use bread crumbs if you’re not worried about Whole30
  • 1 jalapeño pepper, minced
  • Salt and pepper to taste

For the Chipotle Mayo:

  • 1 pasteurized egg, MUST be at room temperature
  • 1 TBSP lime juice
  • 1-3 tsp chipotle chili powder-I used 2 and it was the perfect level of spicy for us
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp granulated garlic
  • 2/3 cup olive oil

Here’s What You Do:

  1. Green Burger2Preheat the oven to 425°. Wash the potatoes and cut into wedges. In a large bowl, toss the wedges in olive oil and salt; spread wedges evenly onto a lined baking sheet and cook for 30-40 minutes.
  2. While the wedges are cooking, mix together all of the ingredients for the chicken avocado burgers and form into patties. Cook for a few minutes on each side until cooked through and browned. Note: Make sure you wait to cook these until there’s only about 5-10 minutes left in the wedges. You can always cook the wedges longer if the burgers still need some time! The burgers can be made on a grill, skillet or George Foreman. 
  3. Once the burgers are on the grill, start making the chipotle mayo. Combine all of the mayo ingredients except the olive oil in a mason jar or medium glass measuring cup. Start mixing using an immersion blender and *slowly add in the olive oil while you continue to blend. The slower you add the oil, the thicker the mayo will be!
  4. Remove wedges from oven and serve with the burgers, using the chipotle mayo as a dipping sauce and/or topping for the burger. Feel free to add tomatoes, onion, lettuce, etc.!

The mayo was originally supposed to be just for dipping, but it’s a great burger topper as well. If you want to spice it up a bit more (I did), just add a little more chipotle chili powder. Obviously my dad was not a fan of this (it’s green, he doesn’t do green foods), but we loved it. So great. We will definitely make this far beyond our Whole30 days.

On that note, 13 more days.

One thought on “Avocado Jalapeno Chicken Burgers with Potato Wedges and Chipotle Mayo

Leave a Reply

