Jalapeño Ginger Ahi Tuna with Avocado

I’ve always been a big fish person. I swear it’s in my blood.

Maybe it’s because of my Nordmann Papa, who used to plan picnics with us in his big boat, conveniently parked in his backyard. Or maybe it stems from all of the fishing trips we’d take to his cabin near the Minnesota-Canada border. He was one of those super outdoorsy men that loved to fish and hunt. He also had a smoker built into his garage (drooling just thinking about his smoked salmon, freshly caught in Lake Michigan), which didn’t hurt either.

Or maybe it’s all because of my mom–it usually is. She used to feed me lutefisk when I was a baby. Apparently my taste buds were much more daring during my infant days. She continues to make lutefisk (which is actually described online by its gelatinous texture–barf) every Christmas even though she’s the only one that eats it. That is until Connor and I have babies and she then forces this tradition upon them, too.

Sorry future kids, better you than me.

I could also blame my dad. Despite his limited palate, he actually likes fish. We were pretty fortunate as kids and would take an annual trip to Mexico when we were growing up. If you know my parents, you can understand why these trips were the best week of the year. You also wouldn’t be surprised that my dad was  named runner-up in the Mr. Barcelo contest, losing only because he didn’t know who TF Ricky Martin was.

Anyway, during these trips my dad would eat enormous amounts of seafood. The only time he ever let his infantile taste buds get in the way was when he ordered the fish soup (which basically ended up being a dead fish lying in broth–eyeballs and all). And one year, he only ate tuna. I swear. That was it.

So, at least I know why I love tuna steaks so much. And if you make this recipe, you will too. Trust.

Jalapeño Ginger Ahi Tuna with AvocadoTuna2

Makes: 2 Servings
Prep: 5 minutes
Total: 10-15 minutes

You’ll Need:Tuna

  • 2 TBSP fresh cilantro
  • 1/2 fresh jalapeño, diced
  • 1 tsp fresh ginger, grated
  • 3 TBSP lime juice
  • 2 TBSP coconut aminos–or soy sauce
  • Sea salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 lb Ahi Tuna–I use the frozen package from Trader Joe’s, big surprise huh?
  • 1 ripe avocado, sliced
  • Romaine lettuce for serving

Here’s How:

  1. In a medium bowl, combine the cilantro, jalapeño, ginger, lime juice, coconut aminos, salt, pepper and 2 TBSP of the olive oil.
  2. Place a skillet over medium-high heat and add the remaining 2 TBSP olive oil. Season the tuna with salt and pepper to taste.
  3. Once the oil is simmering, lay the tuna onto the skillet and sear for 1-3 minutes. Flip and sear for another 1-3 minutes. Note: I like my tuna rare, like really rare. So I would prefer to cook each side closer to 1 minute. My husband doesn’t love raw meat like I do, so we compromised and cooked each side for 2 minutes. If you’re using the TJ’s Ahi Tuna, I thought this ended up being the perfect happy-medium. If you prefer your tuna well-done, I’d say at least cook at least 3 minutes per side.
  4. When there’s about 1 minute left, add about half of the sauce into the hot pan to coat the tuna.
  5.  When finished cooking, remove from heat. Serve over romaine, topped with avocado. Drizzle with additional sauce.

Text2This was the last meal we made during our first Whole30 run. Thank goodness we did because this sauce alone is worth it. I actually went back to Trader Joe’s today to get more Ahi Tuna so we can make this again next week–it’s that good. We paired it with steamed broccoli and a non-alcoholic LaCroix (womp, womp).
At least we thought it was good. My father, who was the inspiration for this meal, thought otherwise. You can’t please everyone.

Leave a Reply

